Australian Consulate-General
Hong Kong
Also accredited to Macau

Key Staff

Acting Consul-General

 Mr Ryan Neelam

Ryan Neelam has been acting as the Australian Consul-General to Hong Kong and Macau since February 2020, following his commencement as Deputy Consul-General in January 2020. He has served as a diplomat for over ten years.

Mr Neelam was previously the Deputy State Director of the Department of Foreign Affairs & Trade (DFAT) in Sydney, the Department’s largest domestic office outside of headquarters.  He has held a range of positions in Canberra, including leading DFAT’s United Nations policy section, advancing Australia’s bilateral relationships in North Asia, negotiating Free Trade Agreements, and formulating climate and development policy.

From 2012 to 2015, Mr Neelam was posted to the Australian Mission to the United Nations in New York, where he represented Australia on global economic, climate change and human rights issues.  During this time, he was a key Australian negotiator of the UN Sustainable Development Goals and represented Australia in UN Security Council negotiations on African peace and security matters.

Mr Neelam holds a Bachelor of Economics and Social Sciences (Honours) from the University of Sydney.


Executive Team


 Ryan Neelam
 Acting Consul-General

 Shannon Powell
 Senior Trade and Investment Commissioner

 Marisa Howarth
 Consul (Consular & Management) 

 Scott Mann
 Consul (Australian Border Force)

 Toby Affleck
 Consul (Immigration)

 Gavin McDougall
 Director, Public Affairs

 Damien Appleby
 Consul (Police Liaison)